Research Guides: NSET 111: Life Science : Biology, Ecology &amp; Geology Books

Biology Books at Point Park University Library

The eBook Collection at Point Park University Library provides access to over 125,000 electronic books covering a variety of subjects. This resource also allows the user to automatically cite, print, and take notes electronically!

Ebook Central provides full text access to electronic books covering a variety of subjects. This resource also allows the user to print and take notes electronically.

Below is a just a sample of the books available in PointCat (our catalog) covering topics in Biology.

The Story of the Human Body by Daniel E. Lieberman
Call Number: QP38 .L74 2013
ISBN: 9780307379412
Publication Date: 2013
In this landmark book of popular science, Daniel E. Lieberman--chair of the department of human evolutionary biology at Harvard University and a leader in the field--gives us a lucid and engaging account of how the human body evolved over millions of years, even as it shows how the increasing disparity between the jumble of adaptations in our Stone Age bodies and advancements in the modern world is occasioning this paradox: greater longevity but increased chronic disease.
The Stockholm Paradigm: Climate Change and Emerging Disease by Daniel R. Brooks; Eric P. Hoberg; Walter A. Boeger
Call Number: QH543 .B76 2019
ISBN: 9780226632308
Publication Date: 2019
The contemporary crisis of emerging disease has been a century and a half in the making. Human, veterinary, and crop health practitioners convinced themselves that disease could be controlled by medicating the sick, vaccinating those at risk, and eradicating the parts of the biosphere responsible for disease transmission. Evolutionary biologists assured themselves that coevolution between pathogens and hosts provided a firewall against disease emergence in new hosts. Most climate scientists made no connection between climate changes and disease. None of these traditional perspectives anticipated the onslaught of emerging infectious diseases confronting humanity today.

Ecology Books at Point Park University Library

Ebook Central provides full text access to electronic books covering a variety of subjects. This resource also allows the user to print and take notes electronically.

Below is a just a sample of the books available in PointCat (our catalog) covering topics in Ecology.

The Lives of Bees: the untold story of the honey bee in the wild by Thomas D. Seeley
Call Number: SF524 .S34 2019
ISBN: 9780691166766
Publication Date: 2019
How the lives of wild honey bees offer vital lessons for saving the world's managed bee colonies Humans have kept honey bees in hives for millennia, yet only in recent decades have biologists begun to investigate how these industrious insects live in the wild. The Lives of Bees is Thomas Seeley's captivating story of what scientists are learning about the behavior, social life, and survival strategies of honey bees living outside the beekeeper's hive--and how wild honey bees may hold the key to reversing the alarming die-off of the planet's managed honey bee populations.
Underwater Eden: saving the last coral wilderness on Earth by Gregory S. Stone (Editor); David Obura (Editor)
Call Number: QH77.P45 U53 2013
ISBN: 9780226775609
Publication Date: 2012
Worldwide, the oceans are suffering. Corals are dying off at an alarming rate, victims of ocean warming and acidification and their loss threatens more than 25 percent of all fish species, who depend on the food and shelter found in coral habitats. Yet in the waters off the Phoenix Islands, the corals were healthy, the fish populations pristine and abundant and Stone and his companion on the dive, coral expert David Obura, determined that they were going to try their best to keep it that way.

Geology Books at Point Park University Library

Ebook Central provides full text access to electronic books covering a variety of subjects. This resource also allows the user to print and take notes electronically.

Below is a just a sample of the books available in PointCat (our catalog) covering topics in Geology.

Here on Earth: a natural history of the planet by Tim Flannery
Call Number: QE501 .F53 2010b
ISBN: 9780802119766
Publication Date: 2011
Beginning at the moment of creation with the Big Bang, Here on Earth explores the evolution of Earth from a galactic cloud of dust and gas to a planet with a metallic core and early signs of life within a billion years of being created. In a compelling narrative, Flannery describes the formation of the Earth's crust and atmosphere, as well as the transformation of the planet's oceans from toxic brews of metals (such as iron, copper, and lead) to life-sustaining bodies covering 70 percent of the planet's surface. Life, Flannery shows, first appeared in these oceans in the form of microscopic plants and bacteria, and these metals served as catalysts for the earliest biological processes known to exist.
An Introduction to Seismology, Earthquakes, and Earth Structure by Seth Stein
Call Number: QE534.3.S74 2003
ISBN: 0865420785
An Introduction to Seismology, Earthquakes and Earth Structures is an introduction to seismology and its role in the earth sciences, and is written for advanced undergraduate and beginning graduate students. The fundamentals of seismic wave propagation are developed using a physical approach and then applied to show how refraction, reflection, and teleseismic techniques are used to study the structure and thus the composition and evolution of the earth.

EZBorrow

Can’t find a book in our collection? Use EZBorrow to request books from other university libraries. Login to EZBorrow with your Point Park email address and password. The books you request will be delivered to the Library in about 3-4 days. You will receive an email when they arrive.