Research Guides: NSET 110: Physical &amp; Space Science: Chemistry, Physics &amp; Astronomy Books

Chemistry Books at Point Park University Library

The eBook Collection at Point Park University Library provides access to over 125,000 electronic books covering a variety of subjects. This resource also allows the user to automatically cite, print, and take notes electronically!

Ebook Central provides full text access to electronic books covering a variety of subjects. This resource also allows the user to print and take notes electronically.

Below is a just a sample of the books available in PointCat (our catalog) covering topics in Chemistry.

Liquid Rules: 9780544850194 by Mark Miodownik
Call Number: QC145.2 .M565 2019
ISBN: 9780544850194
Publication Date: 2019
Set over the course of a flight from London to San Francisco, Liquid Rules offers readers a fascinating tour of these formless substances, told through the language of molecules, droplets, heartbeats, and ocean waves. Throughout the trip, we encounter fluids within the plane--from a seemingly ordinary cup of tea to a liquid crystal display screen--and without, in the volcanoes of Iceland, the frozen expanse of Greenland, and the marvelous California coastline. We come to see liquids as substances of wonder and fascination, and to understand their potential for death and destruction.
Chemical Principles: the quest for insight by Loretta Jones; Peter Atkins
Call Number: QD33.2 .A74 2002
ISBN: 0716739232
Written for general chemistry courses, this text should help students to develop chemical insight by showing the connections between chemical principles and their applications, both in the laboratory and the world around us. the author begin with a detailed picture of the atom before moving on to the macroscopic topics of thermodynamics and kinetics. They continually demonstrate how to solve problems and encourage students to question, reason and think visually about the concepts they learn.

Physics Books at Point Park University Library

Ebook Central provides full text access to electronic books covering a variety of subjects. This resource also allows the user to print and take notes electronically.

Below is a just a sample of the books available in PointCat (our catalog) covering topics in Physics.

Seven Brief Lessons on Physics by Carlo Rovelli
Call Number: BD632 .M38 2012
ISBN: 9780399184413
Publication Date: 2016
This playful, entertaining, and mind-bending introduction to modern physics briskly explains Einstein's general relativity, quantum mechanics, elementary particles, gravity, black holes, the complex architecture of the universe, and the role humans play in this weird and wonderful world. Carlo Rovelli, a renowned theoretical physicist, is a delightfully poetic and philosophical scientific guide. He takes us to the frontiers of our knowledge: to the most minute reaches of the fabric of space, back to the origins of the cosmos, and into the workings of our minds. The book celebrates the joy of discovery. "Here, on the edge of what we know, in contact with the ocean of the unknown, shines the mystery and the beauty of the world," Rovelli writes. "And it's breathtaking."
The Future of Humanity: terraforming Mars, interstellar travel, immortality, and our destiny beyond Earth by Michio Kaku
Call Number: Q175.5 .K257 2011
ISBN: 9780385542760
Publication Date: 2018
World-renowned physicist and futurist Michio Kaku explores in rich, intimate detail the process by which humanity may gradually move away from the planet and develop a sustainable civilization in outer space. He reveals how cutting-edge developments in robotics, nanotechnology, and biotechnology may allow us to terraform and build habitable cities on Mars. He then takes us beyond the solar system to nearby stars, which may soon be reached by nanoships traveling on laser beams at near the speed of light. Finally, he brings us beyond our galaxy, and even beyond our universe, to the possibility of immortality, showing us how humans may someday be able to leave our bodies entirely and laser port to new havens in space.

Astronomy Books at Point Park University Library

Ebook Central provides full text access to electronic books covering a variety of subjects. This resource also allows the user to print and take notes electronically.

Below is a just a sample of the books available in PointCat (our catalog) covering topics in Astronomy.

The Great Silence: the science and philosophy of Fermi's paradox by Milan M. Cirkovic
Call Number: QB54 .C575 2018
ISBN: 9780199646302
Publication Date: 2018
The Great Silence explores the multifaceted problem named after the great Italian physicist Enrico Fermi and his legendary 1950 lunchtime question "Where is everybody?" In many respects, Fermi's paradox is the richest and the most challenging problem for the entire field of astrobiology and the Search for ExtraTerrestrial Intelligence (SETI) studies. This book shows how Fermi's paradox is intricately connected with many fields of learning, technology, arts, and even everyday life.
Encyclopedia of the History of Astronomy and Astrophysics by David Leverington
Call Number: QB15 .L388 2013
ISBN: 9780521899949
Publication Date: 2013
This comprehensive Encyclopedia covers the full history of astronomy from its ancient origins in Africa, South America, the Middle East and China to the latest developments in astrophysics and space-based research. The initial articles, which are largely organised chronologically, are followed by numerous thematic historical articles on the constituents of the Solar System, types of stars, stellar evolution, active galaxies, cosmology and much more.

EZBorrow

Can’t find a book in our collection? Use EZBorrow to request books from other university libraries. Login to EZBorrow with your Point Park email address and password. The books you request will be delivered to the Library in about 3-4 days. You will receive an email when they arrive.