Skip to main content

Cite in APA Style: Journal/Magazine Articles

A brief guide for the latest edition of APA.

Journal and Magazine Articles

Note: Print and online journal articles are now treated the same with APA!!

Type of Source: Format and General Example:

 Print Journal Article with one author 

Author’s name. (Year of publication). Article title. Journal title, Volume (issue), page numbers.

 

Mars, C. (2010).  A Wayward Art: Battle-Pieces and Melville's Poetic Turn. American Literature, 82, 91-119.

Print Journal Articles with Multiple Authors 

Authors’ names. (Year of publication). Article title. Journal title, volume (issue), page numbers.

 

Nash, M., & Leab, D.J. (2008). Freedomways. American Communist History, 7, 227-237.

Online Journal Article 

Author’s name. (Year of publication). Article title. Journal title, Volume (issue), page numbers. DOI

Note: If the article has a DOI available, include it in the citation.  If not include the URL of the journal's homepage or the exact URL of the article if it is open access.

Korstad, R. (2008). Civil rights unionism and the black freedom struggle. American Communist History, 7(2),   255-258.  doi:10.1080/14743890802580123

The example below has no page numbers or DOI so it includes the URL of the site where it was found: 

 

Grant, A. (2010). What is this? A glowing, cave-dwelling organism? Discover 3(1). Retrieved from  http://discovermagazine.com/2010/mar/18-what- is-this-glowing-cave-dwelling-organism

 

 

Full Text Journal Article from a Database 

Author’s name. (Year of publication). Article title. Journal title, Volume (issue), page numbers. DOI.

Note: The same rules apply as to the online journal articles above.  APA no longer requires that you name the database where you found the article.  These articles will almost always include page numbers and the DOI so include that information.

Korstad, R. (2008). Civil rights unionism and the black freedom struggle. American Communist History, 7(2), 255-258. doi:10.1080/14743890802580123

 

Print Magazine 

Author’s name. (Date of publication). Article title. Magazine title, issue number, page numbers.

Stengel, R. (2009, December 21). Indelible Images. Time, 174, 10-10.

 

Online Magazine 

Author’s name. (Date of publication). Article title. Magazine title. Web address.

Noah, T. (2010, March 10). Is Mitt going down? Health reform's first casualty may be a Republican. Slate. Retrieved from http://www.slate.com/id/2247467/

Full Text  Magazine Article from a Library Database 

Author’s name. (Date of publication). Article title. Magazine title, issue number, page numbers.

 

Stengel, R. (2009, December 21). Indelible Images. Time, 174, 10-10.

Note: APA 6th does not include giving the name of the database in the citation.  As library databases almost always provide the page numbers, the citation should look the same as the print magazine citation.  Usually you will not include the URL of an article found from a library database (like Academic Search Complete) unless you absolutely have to.